Getting brave and going public…

When I first came up with the idea for my Inspiredtravels71 project in March 2015 I was on a touring holiday around the Province of Barcelona in Spain. I was so moved by the book I’d just read 60 Postcards, that I kept talking to the tour rep Maureen & several other travellers about the book and my idea for a project. They probably thought I was a bit crackers, but listened intently to my ramblings and made encouraging comments & suggestions.

On returning from that trip I continued my mission solo. Until June this year, that is, when I was on a trip in Norwich. I’d decided that on my last day there I would hide a card somewhere in their famous store Jarrolds.

Jarrolds in Norwich,
Photo credit: pbase.com

When it came to lunchtime a friend, Anna asked to come for a walk with me, so off we set. I thought I’d better warn her what I was going to do in case she thought I was acting strangely and misbehaving.

I explained the project & why I was doing it and she was excited by the idea. We lost each other in the store so when we caught up later that day, I filled Anna in on where I’d hidden the card and more about how I saw the project work. She loved the idea and said if I wanted to she could take a card back to Poland for me and hide it somewhere there. I was thrilled at her offer of help and prepared a card for her to take that evening.

A month or so later we caught up by email and Anna filled me in on the location of the card  she’d hidden (somewhere in the shopping mall pictured below. I’ll say no more!) and told me that she’d been back to see if the card was still there. She’d got the bug too!

The shopping mall in Poland where a card is hidden…somewhere!
Photo credit: Malls.com

Anna’s reaction to my project gave me the courage to speak to others about what I was doing. The responses I’ve had have all been extremely positive, with offers of help from friends and even people I don’t know.  If you’re interested in hearing more or want to know how you too can get involved please contact me.

Still no finders yet, but I continue to wait patiently.the adventure continues.

 

Leave a Reply

